Salary Structure of the Nigerian Air Force

Have you ever thought if the Nigerian Air force salaries are proportionate to the labour and sacrifice they make daily for all of us? This is where to find out!

The Nigerian Air force is the air-focused military force. It was formally established in January 1964 with technical assistance from West Germany. The air force started life as a transport unit with aircrew being trained in Canada, Ethiopia and Pakistan. The air force did not get a combat capability until a number of MiG-17 aircraft were presented by the Soviet Union in 1966. It flies transport, trainer, helicopter, and fighter aircraft.

The Nigerian Air Force salaries are based on their ranks and educational qualification.

The commissioned officers for the Nigerian Air force are as follows:

  1. Marshal of the Nigerian Air Force
  2. Air Chief Marshal
  3. Air Marshal
  4. Air Vice-Marshal
  5. Air Commodore
  6. Group Captain
  7. Wing Commander
  8. Squadron Leader
  9. Flight Lieutenant
  10. Flying Officer
  11. Pilot Officer

There are nine ranks of the non-commissioned officers in the Nigerian Air force.

  1. Air Warrant Officer
  2. Master Warrant Officer
  3. Warrant Officer
  4. Flight Sergeant
  5. Sergeant
  6. Corporal
  7. Lance – Corporal
  8. Air Craftman
  9. Recruit

The categories and ranks of the Air force, with their respective salaries are thus as follows;


1Marshal of the Nigerian Air ForceYet to be attained
2Air Chief MarshalN1,724,283
3Air MarshalN1,486,451
4Air Vice-MarshalN1,376,343
5Air CommodoreN677,895
6Group CaptainN352,631
7Wing CommanderN342,586
8Squadron LeaderN248,004
9Flight LieutenantN232,484
10Flying OfficerN218,400
11Pilot OfficerN187,159

1Air Warrant OfficerN171,793
2Master Warrant OfficerN165,697
3Warrant OfficerN101,974
4Flight SergeantN87,119
7Air CraftmanN53,892

Check also for available jobs in the Nigeria Air Force