Crisis? Last PDP member of Lagos Assembly defects to APC

The last PDP member in the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr. Dipo Olorunrinu (Amuwo-Odofin Constituency I), has defected to the APC.

Crisis_ Last PDP member of Lagos Assembly defects to APC kikiotolu

The letter to this effect was read at the plenary by the Clerk of the House, Mr. Azeez Sanni.

In the letter which was titled, “Letter of defection from PDP to APC,” the lawmaker apologized for his late defection, saying;

“I sincerely apologize that the defection is coming now. I ask for mercy.”

Olorunrinu lost his re-election bid to APC candidate, Mrs. Mojisola Alli-Macaulay, in the March 9 House of Assembly election with 278 votes.

He vowed not to challenge the result at the election tribunal.

In his comments on the floor, Olorunrinu who requested for a handshake from the Speaker as it was done in the past, said;

“Once upon a time, we had eight of us from PDP in 2015, I said to myself i must join the progressives.”

He described PDP as a party that lacks structure and vision.

The Speaker welcomed Olorunrinu to APC and commended him for his decision, while other APC lawmakers also received him into the party. Obasa said;

“I thank you for making the decision at last. We welcome you into our midst as a member of APC in the House of Assembly.

“You have always been part of us, save the fact that you refused to dump the leaking umbrella. But today, you have decided. I welcome you on behalf of our party.

“I want to thank you for lending your voice to what have been our position from quite sometime that the best party in Nigeria today is APC.

“So, there is nothing to gain from PDP. For realising this, I congratulate you.

“Distinguished colleagues, we are now 40 members of APC. Thank you for joining us.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top