Kikiotolu | Original Stories and More

We are poised to offer you latest news, politics, commentary, essay, humour, stories and other topics affecting the Nigerian youth.

All you need to know about Nigerian Professional Football League: History | winners and list of clubs

All you need to know about Nigerian Professional Football League: History | winners and list of clubs

Here is the full list of all the professional football clubs in Nigeria and all you need to know about Nigerian football. Most Nigerians don’t watch the Nigerian premier league as we prefer to watch the European leagues. But some who love made in Nigerian football still tune in to watch the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL). This page is set to give you the complete list of clubs in the Nigerian Premier league. The league is highly entertaining but has bee plagued by poor coverage, substandard stadiums and at times issues of match fixing. Though in recent years the League Management Company (LMC) have intensified efforts to improve the quality of Nigerian Football.

All You Need To Know About The Nigerian Premier League

The Nigeria Premier league is managed by the league management Company. For information about promotion and relegation. Clubs which make the first three slots in the Nigerian National League are promoted into the Nigeria Premier league, while the last three clubs on the premier league table at the end of the season are relegated to the Nigeria National League.

The Nigeria Premier League is currently being sponsored by Globacom Telecommunication Company. Due to the sponsorship arrangement the Nigerian Premier league is being referred to as the Glo Premier League. The Nigeria Premier League is also doing well continentally as the league was ranked as the best league in Africa in 2012 was also ranked 24th best in the world. 

Clubs in the Nigerian Premier league participate in a number of national competitions like the Nigeria FA cup and the Nigeria Super Cup. They also participate in continental competitions, like the Champions League and the Confederation Cup.

Enugu Rangers is the current champions of the NPL for 2016. And both Enugu rangers and Enyimba International FC hold the record as the two clubs to have won the NPL title the most times.

Below is the List of Clubs in The Nigerian Premier League/Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL)

  • Bayelsa United
  • Akwa United Uyo
  • Gombe United
  • Crown FC Ogbomoso
  • Kaduna United
  • Kano pillars
  • Enyimba Aba
  • Warri Wolves
  • Lobi Stars Makurdi
  • Abia Warriors
  • Enugu rangers International
  • Dolphins Port Harcourt
  • Heartland Owerri
  • Sunshine Stars Akure
  • Taraba FC
  • Port Harcourt Sharks
  • El-Kanemi Warriors Maiduguri
  • Giwa FC
  • Nasarawa United

The Nigerian National League is the lower league after the NPL as is made up of 16 clubs which are listed below:

  • Kwara United
  • MFM FC Lagos
  • Mighty Jets Jos
  • Niger Tornadoes Minna
  • Plateau United
  • Prime FC Oshogbo
  • Abuja FC
  • Bendel Insurance
  • First bank Lagos
  • Gabros International Nnewi
  • Gateway United Abeokuta
  • Ranchers Bees Kaduna
  • Shooting Stars SC Ibadan
  • Stationary Stores Lagos
  • UniCem Rovers Calabar
  • Wikki Tourists Bauchi

All You Need To Know About The League Management Company (LMC)

The League Management Company was formed in the year 2012 following the collapse of the Nigeria Football League (NFL). The Nigerian Football Association, issued the League Management Company (LMC) the license to organize and regulate the top tier league in the country to meet with global technical and commercial standards.

The League Management Company after being setup in a bid to improve the league instituted match indemnities for match officials, and sanctions on clubs who fail to pay salaries and allowances to their players.

Below Is The List Of All The Previous Winners Of The Nigerian Premier League

• 1972 : Mighty Jets (Jos)
• 1973 : Bendel Insurance (Benin City)
• 1974 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1975 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1976 : Shooting Stars (Ibadan)
• 1977 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1978 : Racca Rovers (Kano)
• 1979 : Bendel Insurance (Benin City)
• 1980 : Shooting Stars (Ibadan)
• 1981 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1982 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1983 : Shooting Stars (Ibadan)
• 1984 : Rangers International (Enugu)
• 1985 : New Nigeria Bank (Benin City)
• 1986 : Leventis United (Ibadan)
• 1987 : Leventis United (Ibadan)
• 1988 : Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)
• 1989 : Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)
• 1990 : Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)
• 1991 : Julius Berger (Lagos)
• 1992 : Stationery Stores (Lagos)
• 1993 : Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)
• 1994 : BCC Lions (Gboko)
• 1995 : Shooting Stars (Ibadan)
• 1996 : Udoji United (Awka)
• 1997 : Eagle Cement (Port Harcourt)
• 1998 : Shooting Stars (Ibadan)
• 1999 : Lobi Stars (Makurdi)
• 2000 : Julius Berger (Lagos)
• 2001 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2002 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2003 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2004 : Dolphins FC (Port Harcourt)
• 2005 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2006 : Ocean Boys (Brass)
• 2007 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2008 : Kano Pillars (Kano)
• 2009 : Bayelsa United (Yenegoa)
• 2010 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2011 : Dolphins (Port Harcourt)
• 2012 : Kano Pillars (Kano)
• 2013 : Kano Pillars (Kano)
• 2014 : Kano Pillars (Kano)
• 2015 : Enyimba (Aba)
• 2016 : Rangers International (Enugu)

There you have it on this post “All you need to know about Nigerian Professional Football League: History | winners and list of clubs.” I hope you found this helpful.

Download sports highlights on

Share this post with your Friends on 👇


Updated: May 18, 2018 — 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Kikiotolu | Original Stories and More © 2018